Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world
See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.


Back to Sansom Street Gym

ALL REVIEWS FOR SANSOM STREET GYM (37)

  •   Not what it used to be
    Phillyguy123 ·

    August 12

    This place has gone way down hill.. Help is rude, showers are gross.. Most don't even have soap dispensers.. And good luck getting hot water.. Plants on the deck are half dead, and they start some renovations/ painting that a kindergartner could do a better job at.. I most likely won't be back...
  •   The Filthiest Bathhouse in Filthadelphia
    cc2001 ·

    May 24

    Most importantly: There is no soap in the showers. I kid you not. Stall after stall with no soap dispensers. No soap at a bathhouse. How can they legally stay open? What do guys do after they f*ck? The sheets haven't been bleached. The saunas aren't fully functional, and there are construction materials left across the premises. The rules say no clothes in the bathhouse, but half the guys are fully clothed. Guys walk around the place with their camera phones. WTF? Make sure no one takes a picture of you there. The guy at the front desk yells at you if you ring the doorbell to enter. Sansom Street Gym, which bills itself as the cleanest baths in the city, is one of the filthiest bathhouses and certainly the most dilapidated. Not even the lights in the rooms work. Do yourself a favor, don't come here.
  •   WAAAAAY OVERRATED!
    ReiseSchwuler ·

    January 19

    OK, let me start with the good... The second level steam room and sauna were hot. That's it. Kinda what you'd expect, though, so that's not really a compliment. The whole place is in serious need of some updating. Besides the different states of disrepair in the locker rooms, showers, weight room, even in the dark room on the top level (exposed electrical panel!!!) this place is stuck in the 70s. 1970s! That really is true with most of the gay bathhouses in the U.S. The owners of these places need to go across the pond and visit The Boiler or even Apollo Splash Club (which has been around forever) in Berlin and learn how to run a business! This is a great space and location, it really has a lot of potential, but it's run to the ground! Don't waste your hard earned money for this rip off until they renovate. A word about the staff... They were actually really pleasant and trying to work with what they have there. Keeping the place clean, too.
  •   just love the sound of it
    vicent.priece ·

    December 30

    I have not actually been to this gym, yet. I parked my car in a paid parking lot near by and went back and forth in between my car and the 2020 Sansom st front door, several times. But I just ended up chickening out. My worry was what the people's view on an asian in a place like this... (never had been to one). But sure like the sound of this place as I'm a total bottom with not much preference with the one I get to engage in a sexual play...
  •   Bring back the ole Sansom Street Gym
    BLKDADDYBRUFF ·

    May 21, 2014

    MESSAGE TO ALL: Get over any issues you may have about bathhouses. They're not seedy places where you catch AIDS. Most catch AIDS at the cleanest of places. The building doesn't give diseases, carriers do. Appreciate this public service as much as you can. NYkers would kill for a setup like this and charge much more and would be AMAZING. You are DEFINITELY doing yourself a disservice for not taking advantage. I would give 5 stars, but hafta minus one for the stay policy being changed to 8 hours.
  •   hot Latino
    miguelo215 ·

    December 17, 2013

    I like to meet any one ón this place to take me virgin or suck dick
  •   Fun Saturday night
    geekcub ·

    August 15, 2013

    Had a hot sexy time with a couple guys over a couple hours after the bars let out. Met a couple of nice daddies and dudes my age...definitely worth the price of admission!
  •   Quite enjoyable
    craigjau ·

    June 24, 2013

    Again, being a well travelled sauna slut, I was a little hesitant due to one reviews. Don't be too put off by them. This sauna shits all over NYC ones. The rooms are a great size, the staff are cool and helpful (are you listening, New Yorkers)? It's a decent sized sauna too...enough to get lost in. Free food and beer on the Saturday night was way cool too.
  •   Young&willing
    Smitty86 ·

    June 15, 2013

    Has everything for the curious at heart. Please if you are in the northeast, leave me a message or something. It's hard finding men out here
  •   yeahhhh
    jeremeyJiggles ·

    April 27, 2013

    Lots of happiness, serious yup
  •   Need some info!
    PhillyBoy7290 ·

    March 26, 2013

    looking for some info on this place. Are condoms used a lot? I dont wanna catch anything ya know? How does it work/when should i go/what should I do to get things rolling! Young bottom boi here so if you wanna give me info, we can meet up and I can repay you for your help...if you know what I mean ;)
  •   Wow
    Honeybun123 ·

    March 15, 2013

    Its a good place. Met sum nice people and had sum fun. I was surprised to see an actual gym in there, I know but hey I didnt go to workout on a machine, tho mayb a ride or 2. Lol. Anyway if u wanna work out i'd bring shorts and everyone should bring flip flops or somethin, I found that out the hard way. Two last words that made this worth it, maze room, best fun ever. Lol
  •   New
    Phillyman21 ·

    December 27, 2012

    Is this the right place to go for a young college student questioning his sexuality? Still a virgin, but want to experiment with men. Are there many young people there?
  •   Great Place
    Showoff ·

    November 3, 2012

    For someone who loves to walk around completely naked, this is the place for you. My fantasy of playing with other like-minded exhibitionists in front of other gay men becomes a reality here. Yes it is true that sometimes there are just a few people there, but as long as I have another guy with me willing to do anything, anywhere in front of anybody (in the bath house), I'm happy enough.
  •   A Great place to meet n Greet Guys.Its Clean,relaxing,Safe and Fun with helpfull great staff
    MichaelLeo67 ·

    August 23, 2012

    Last Saturday nights DJ Party w free drinks, the hottie dancer was Kool n relaxing too.Will attend on 8/25th.I took the advice of the friendly helpfull attendent to get a room and he was so right it paid off big time .I meet some nice people all types and ( A Fantastic cute, Single so he says lol hunky so sexy b/ m dam baby lets work it do that a gain vip style!!Thanks for such a great place to meet cya the 25th
  •   They are trying
    tazboy6969 ·

    August 3, 2012

    Making improvements but steam room still not working and tv room could use a new carpet. Usually find at least one or two guys to play with but there is an assortment of older less attractive types and queens wandering about. Im 38 5 10 170 and athletic and look for someone like me or more built, bbc preferred. Will be there 8/9 if any are checking
  •  
    LeoDarkmaneX ·

    May 19, 2012

    love it
  •  
    geovanni ·

    December 28, 2011

    guys, I'm coming in from NYC for new years and want to hit a bathhouse...Please help me with the best day and time to hit one and which one....thanks
  •   get lucky
    blknjuicy ·

    December 6, 2011

    So happy that this Wednesday will be my first time here at the place I hope I can get lucky by receiver head or get sex because it been 3months
  •   First Time Visitor
    ZekeLong ·

    December 4, 2011

    Hi Guys! I've NEVER been to Sansom Street Gymn or any other similar place, but plan to visit tomorrow (12/4/11) and was wondering if someone could fill me in on this place and the do's and don'ts and how the place is layed out - basically help a newby on his first visit. Please contact me and let me know anything that would be helpful. I'm anxious and any help would be greatly appreciate.
  •   Always a fun time here ....
    rickfrombraniff ·

    November 29, 2011

    I'll be coming back again on 06.25.13 and it's always a good time: nice guys at the front desk, lots of guys looking for sex, and a nice little sundeck to tan your butt and dick. If you can't find someone here, you must be looking the wrong way. See you on 06.25.13
  •   First Time
    Newbe5410 ·

    November 23, 2011

    I went there last night for the first time. I didn't know what to expect except for what is written in the reviews. I went in and paid $22.50 for a room. It was a small room with a bed and a video TV playing. I didn't know how to go about getting together with someone until I noticed some of the doors to the rooms open. I opened my door and then it began. I have never had sex with a man before so I was too tight the one man to stick it in. I winded up just giving and receiving head all night. Is there something I can use to help. I can see this place for the money is a lot better than Adonis or Sansom Street Theater.I will be there on December 10 for the party.If interested in hooking up leave me a message through the e-mail fan base. Age 47 weight 177 height 5 7 .
  •   lunch time business mens special
    rand ·

    November 19, 2011

    Wow, the best $5.00 "lunch" in town. Hot ,sexy business guys, popin in for a quick "lunch". I go regularly and see a lot of regulars there. I always leave satisfied. Oh did I mention, the place is clean, the staff are nice. All the rooms have videos. Only negative, the steam room has been out of service way too long.
  •   i like to go
    xoduis ·

    July 31, 2011

    I like to go to Place like this but I like to go with someone . and from what I hear it seem like a good place to meet some people ;)
  •   Love those Philly men
    TomnDC ·

    July 24, 2011

    Had lots of fun in this place. If you can get past the attitude of the guy at the front desk, this place rocks. It was a quiet Sunday morning, but found a number of guys ready and willing for action. Will definitely visit this place again when I'm in Philly.
  •   Cum dump bottom here
    cumdump205 ·

    July 4, 2011

    always looking for guys to fuck and breed my hole
  •   boring
    masculine0 ·

    May 29, 2011

    It is big place and clean, but a little boring.
  •   pro's and con's
    zizland ·

    May 2, 2011

    an interesting place with a lot of potential. and therein lies the problem - it's all potential for now. last time i went i chatted with the front desk folks. very friendly, very informative. here's what i learned... the new management is working hard to make the place a success. the owner has other properties and knows how to run the business. the biggest challenge is location, location, location - this place isn't near the bars. so unless you are planning on cumming (sic) here, you probably won't be here. most guys who are looking for sex go to the cinema next door (owned by the same person). in and out and you get what you need. this place - everytime i've gone - has been empty. plus, since it's big, that makes it feel even worse. my friend did tell me that party nights (listed on the website) are a big hit and well attended. but normal nights may have 10 guys. 30 max. and if you haven't been here, 30 is not enough to make this place feel busy. so, here are the pro's and con's. pro's: -- clean and nicely laid out. -- lots of play areas con's: -- no one there i'd be interested in hearing if other guys have had other experiences or if the place has picked up. it'd be shame to see this place go out of business - the other club in town is a bit skanky.
  •   luv this place
    OZPaulie ·

    April 3, 2011

    Whenever I am in Philly I love to drop by. Always fun, clean and the staff are friendly. As with anything you make your own fun, see yah soon
  •   Under New Management
    RandyPhilly ·

    March 29, 2011

    Place has tons of potential, and a new management approach may get them there... Website has been revamped, and some repairs are going on.... Very, very clean, nice VIP rooms including a couple of sling rooms and rooms with tiedowns, but public "connection' space is not great, despite addition of a maze on the second floor.... few props, few places for groupsex to eddy and flow, no public sling, playbenches or platforms... just a few large rooms with carpeted platforms and a few guys. Maze is a nice start, though.... Despite its shortcomings, beats the competition in town in large part due to focus on cleanliness, and has great potential to develop and improve over time! Rating as four stars with the hopes that it will grow into four-star and five-star capability over time.....
  •   Could be great
    grenkle33 ·

    January 2, 2011

    An impressive facility, beautfiully clean. no soap in dispensers, inoperative steam/sauna which was a disappointment. I have two gripes - #1 is that it was frigging cold with the exception of the viewing room on the top floor and the backroom on that level; #2, the rules state that no clothing is permitted outside the dressing area- I was there 4 times this past year and no one was without clothing, some with jeans & t-shirt, one with full leathers, some with short & t-shirt. That was a disappointment as I enjoy looking at naked male bodies. I was naked until I realized that I was the only one, then I donned the towel. I wanted to return during a visit to the city in December, but decided against it when I remembered how cold it had been on my previous visits. Maybe that was one reason that there were so few people there during my visits. .
  •   Greatest nothing less tha yr imagination
    m51right ·

    July 27, 2010

    Clean staff made you feel welcome more than I could handle
  •   Over all, I had a pretty good time!
    snuka12000 ·

    May 30, 2010

    I visited on Friday, May 28, 2010. I arrived sometime between 3 PM and 4 PM. You shouldn't expect too much when you visit places like this. There weren't a lot of guys there. There couldn't have been more than 5 guys there, including me. Some more guys came in later. I left at about 9 PM. There couldn't have been anymore than 10 guys there when I left. Over all, I had a pretty good time. There were some good looking, nice guys there that I had some fun with. Over all, the place was pretty much clean. They do need to fix the steamroom and suana. They do need to fix some of the sinks, soap dispencers and make sure that there is soap in the soap dispencers. The place is big and there is plenty of room to play. I like the 2 rooms on the 1st level that were playing porn. I liked the "play" room on the 3rd level. There is a dark room on the 4th level that I played in that was okay. I will come back here again!
  •   Potential is there, but it fails!
    EwingGuy ·

    March 28, 2010

    Spotlessly clean, but--bathrooms are seldom working; steam room and sauna are broken, vending machines broken, water fountain broken. Went there for the 3rd Anniversary party as advertised. Midnight--they bring in a couple of blasé pizzas. Where was the bash in the party room as advertised? Club is huge, could handle about 150 easily--if there were 30,that's about it. Tired cleientele--even one guy took to advertising by Post-its to come to his room! The other club, CBC, always is jumping, but it's just so seedy. Sansom has potential--too bad the owners don't milk it!
  •   will be there
    awto ·

    March 24, 2010

    My bf and I are visiting Philly the Easter weekend. We will be there!!!
  •   Please..Somebody Save this Gem in the Rough!
    Tranquil ·

    January 23, 2010

    This multi-level place has such potential to be like the great bath houses of yester year. It's misguided and should be redirected. The decor is impressive with different theme rooms and nooks and cranies to have fun! Not much to see regarding clientele. Some reviewers state all of the hot guys there...Where-oh-Where! I'm fit and attractive and saw very few of those types there. I guess it doesn't matter if you're into pig sex. On several visits it wasn't enough people there in this giant building. Also I was assgined a first floor room and it was freezing cold. Management had the hall lights off, it was dark and difficult to locate my room. The shower/rest rooms were dimly lit, light bulbs removed. Snack machine broken, no coffee available. Some showers were out of order. Management, please don't let the quality of this establishment go down.
    first review First to Review
  •   Worth exploring
    BP21 ·

    January 7, 2010

    Visited this place a lunchtime.It was not crowded but he guys who were there were hung, hot and ready for action. I certainly had good time and got plenty of what I was looking for.




Back to Sansom Street Gym »